CRF2 : Building Codes and Their Development

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The U.S. does not have a national energy code or standard, so energy codes are adopted at the state and local levels of government, based on model building energy code development processes administered by the American Society of Heating, Refrigeration, and Air Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) and the International Code Council (ICC). The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) supports and participates in this development.  

Every 3 years, the International Energy Conservation Code (IECC) and ASHRAE publish model codes, which get adopted by state and local governments, as they deem appropriate.

How model codes become part of local requirements.

State-by-State Adoption of Model Energy Codes

ASHRAE 90.1 (Energy Standard for Buildings Except Low-Rise Residential Buildings) is an international standard that provides minimum requirements for energy-efficient building designs. When a revised code reduces energy use compared to the prior edition of that code, DOE triggers the energy code adoption process.  For commercial buildings, the determination is tied to the most recent version of ASHRAE Standard 90.1

This map shows adoption by state of the various versions of ASHRAE 90.1

Note – some states are less efficient than ASHRAE 90.1-2007 while some have adopted, and are better than, ASHRAE 90.1-2013. It is Important to check on the code status for each location.

The National Roofing Contractors Association, NRCA, offers an easy-to-use resource to research up-to-date state and local government codes adoption: The page also includes contacts for state and local agencies and officials.

Commercial Roofing Fundamentals — 
An introduction to commercial roofing concepts
For commercial roofers, building owners, specifiers, managers or residential roofers considering moving into the commercial space, this blog series provides an overview of some of the key concepts that are driving industry decision-making.


There are no comments

Add yours